Thursday Feb. 2, 2023

Feb. 2, 2023

2 février 2023


Upcoming events

HIP HOP SHUFFLE PARTY at the Stray Dog Brewing Company featuring DJ Kam and DJ Mace. Wanna go to the club but don’t want to leave the ‘burbs? It’s a limited, exclusive night. Tickets go fast, so don’t hesitate. Visit to purchase your tickets today.

KAROAKE NIGHT at the Orléans Brewing Co., 4380 Innes Rd. next to McDonald’s from 8:30 pm to midnight. Sing your heart out and enjoy craft beers and great food.

LIVE MUSIC AT TAPROOM 260 – The Underground performs live and in concert from 8 pm to midnight at Taproom260 located at 260 Centrum Blvd. in the Centrum Plaza. For more information visit

TAPROOM 260 – Bird King performs live and in concert from 8 pm to midnight at Taproom260 located at 260 Centrum Blvd. in the Centrum Plaza. For more information visit


Orléans Outstanding Youth Award recipients announced
Fred Sherwin
Jan. 2, 2023

The Orléans Star is proud to announce the recipients of this year’s Orléans Outstanding Youth Awards. The Orléans Outstanding Youth Awards were first launched in 2005 as a way to recognize the many accomplishments of young people living in Orléans and the surrounding community.

They are unique in that there are no specific categories, instead individuals can be nominated for their achievements in a given area or in a combination of areas.

The Orléans Star received 28 nominations in total. Each submission was individually vetted by a panel of seven judges who were each asked to select their top 10 candidates. The lists were then collated and the 20 nominees with the most judges’ selections were chosen to receive the award.

This year’s judges were former children’s entertainer and citizenship court judge Suzanne Pinel, city councillors Catherine Kitts, Matt Luloff and Laura Dudas, Orléans MP Marie-France Lalonde, MPP Stephen Blais and former French public school board principal Pierre Campeau.

This year’s individual recipients are:
• Emma Ellsworth
• Ayla Martin
• Fadila Hijazi
• Eric Mercer
• George Huang
• Asiq Gazi
• Sweny Saija
• Gavin Hickey
• Evan Simcoe
• Gabriel Toreja
• Elizabeth Vroom
• Claire Rea
• Jacob Cheslock
• Robyn Eustace
• Evangeline Tabiou
• Timeo Atonfo
• Sophia Cooney
• Sophie LaVasseur
• Valérie LaVasseur

Two teams have also been chosen to receive an Outstanding Youth Award this year. They are the U12 Cumberland Panthers, which won the Ontario Football Fall Cup provincial championship; and the St. Matthew Tigers varsity football team which won the city championship and the National Capital Bowl.

Unfortunately, not everyone nominated can receive an award. This year’s Honourable Mentions include Adrian Laszkiewicz, Emma Barteau, Mackenzie Cosh, Jessica Bulinski, Donovan Rawlings, Scarlett Noordhof and Kamila Serra King.

Each recipient will receive their personalized trophy, or Honourable Mention certificate, along with several copies of the commemorative program, by special delivery.

The Orléans Outstanding Youth Awards would not be possible without the generous support of presenting sponsors Collège La Cité, Université St.-Paul and Collège Boréal, gold level sponsor M.L. Bradley Ltd. and more than a dozen individual award sponsors.



Plenty to see and do at the Shenkman Arts Centre this fall

School of Theatre artistic director passes the torch after 20 years

Ongoing pandemic fails to slow down local graffiti artist

U12 Panthers, St. Matt's Tigers named co-Teams of the Year

Orléans Star names male and female high school Athletes of the Year

Djeumeni leads St. Matt's Tigers to National Capital Bowl win

Local business



MAKER FEED CO. Cumberland Village restaurant unveils new fall menu




180-FITNESS CENTRE: Home of the Biggest Loser




VIEWPOINT: Aversion to all things winter a result of past experiences


WALTER ROBINSON: What a long, strange trip the last two years have been


Doug Feltmate:COVID-19 pandemic the final straw for troubled industry

Contact information
745 Farmbrook Cres.
Orléans, Ontario K4A 2C1
Phone: 613-447-2829


Orlé © 2001-2019 Sherwin Publishing