Click on image
for more info
Phil McNeely
Posted Feb. 12






Senior Boys Basketball
Fourth quarter collapse proves to be Garneau's undoing in 'AA' hoops final
By Fred Sherwin
Orleans Online

The Garneau Gaulois were left to think about what could have been on Monday as they watched a 12 point half-time lead evaporate against a tenacious Franco Quest Viking squad in the 'AA' senior boys basketball championship.

The Gaulois jumped all over the Vikings from the opening tip-off building up a 12-6 first quarter lead. Their aggressive play resulted in four trips to the free throw line and they made the most of the opportunity sinking four of six ffree throw shots.

Garneau continued to pour it on in the second quarter with a trio of three point shots, extending their lead to 26-14 by the break.

As the two teams took the floor to start the third quarter the Vikings turned up their defensive play two or three notches switching to a full court press to try and throw the Gaulois off their game.

The change in defensive strategy had an immediate impact as Garneau started turning the ball over and shots that swished through the hoop in the first half started clanging off the rim.

At the other end of the court, the Vikings went 5-for-6 from the free throw line and drained four baskets to narrow Garneau's lead to 32-27 by the start of the final stanza.

Things went from bad to worse for the Gaulois who couldn't by a shot in the fourth quarter. Meanwhile the Vikings sank four of their first five shots including a three-pointed by Olivier Izere to take a 36-34 lead. From there the game turned into a free throw shooting contest as the Gaulois kept sending the Vikings to the line.

Franco Quest responded to the challenge by sinking 11 of 18 free throw attempts to pull away from Gaulois and lay claim to the senior boys 'AA' hoops crown.

Nicolas Vandenbosch was the game high scorer for the Gaulois with 10 points while Julien Legris added nine.

After the game Gaulois head coach Hans Schyburt refused to make any excuses for his team's second half collapse, choosing instead to praise the effort of their opponents.

The Awards selection committee of city councillor Rainer Bloess, Anne Pallascio, Lynn Thompson (principal, Gloucester High School), Lynne Stacey (former Lifetime Service Award recipient), Jule Matte (directrice, Ecole secondaire catholique Béatrice-Desloges), André Lacroix (owner, Lacroix Source For Sports) and Syd Davie (OYA organizing committee member) will now individually go over the list of nominees and select those who they feel should receive an Outstanding Youth Award.

Runners up will receive a Cerificate of Merit recognizing them as an Outstanding Youth Award honoree.

The following is a complete list of all 37 nominees:

Brittany Miller, 14
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School

Camille Juzwik, 18
Lester B. Pearson High School

Ivanie Blondin, 16
l’école secondaire catholique Garneau

Katelyn Young, 14
Gloucester High School

Mike Molinski , 17
St. Peter Catholic High School

Nicolas Parent, 17
l’école secondaire publique Gisele-Lalonde

Margaret Sherwin, 11
Hopewell Elementary School

Elaine Medina, 14
Gloucester High School

Segun Makinde, 15
Colonel By Secondary School

Zach Laroche, 17
St. Matthew Catholic High School

Serina Constantineau-Booth , 9
St. Patrick Catholic Elementary School

Kevin Howe , 17
Canterbury High School

Isabelle Proulx , 16
l’école secondaire catholique Garneau

Steffi DiDomenicantonio, 16
l’école secondaire De La Salle

Stephen Upton, 17
St. Peter Catholic High School

Sylvie Seguin, 16
l’école secondaire publique Gisele-Lalonde

Jessica Durepos, 17
l’école secondaire catholique Garneau

Alexa Cherrett , 12
Emily Carr Middle School

Andrea Dark , 17
Cairine Wilson Secondary School

Stephanie Gould, 12
l’école secondaire publique Gisele-Lalonde

Pallavi Patnaik, 17
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School

Mikaela Nicholson , 11
Our Lady Of Wisdom Catholic Elementary School

Ryan Woodill, 15
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School

Ron Woodill, 16
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School

Jacob Fox , 10
Maple Ridge Elementary School

Gabrielle Felio, 14
Colonel By Secondary School

Corina DiGiacomo Jarrett, 16
St. Peter Catholic High School

Donald Clysdale, 12
Educarium Learning Centre

Erica Schneider, 17
Colonel By Secondary School

Brendan Lee, 9
Forest Valley Elementary School

Amber Asp-Chief, 11
Henry Munro Middle School

Alexandra Dean, 14
Gloucester High School

Tessa Bangs, 12
Henry Larsen Elementary School

Ella Bangs, 9
Henry Larsen Elementary School

Victoria Kuntz, 14
St. Peter Catholic High School

Wilson Wong, 15
St. Peter Catholic High School

Vincent Simard, 8
l’école publique Des Sentiers

Brendon Bertrand, 11
Convent Glen elementary School

Bailey Bertand, 8
Convent Glen Elementary School

Joel Colin-Demers, 17

Claude Giroux, 17



Return to top

Return to Front Page




Updated April 12

Click on image

Next breakfast
May 6